Not declaring, when a declaration is required, can lead to fines or confiscation. The exact consequences vary by country, so it is worth knowing the threshold for your destination before you travel. Among the destinations discussed in detail below, the most common threshold sits around USD 10,000, though several countries set their own limit, and a few restrict local currency separately from foreign currency.
The destinations below are split into two groups: the ones TravelDeclaration covers in a full guide, listed first, and the rest, shown with the same kind of official figures but no guide page yet. Use the search box to jump to a destination.
Cash declaration thresholds
| Country | Declare if you carry | When | Notes | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| ๐น๐ญ Thailand | Leaving: over 450,000 THB, or over USD 15,000 in foreign currency | On departure | Thailand publishes a declaration rule for cash you take out. We found no official threshold for cash you bring in. | Official source Last verified: 13 Oct 2026 |
| ๐ฎ๐ฉ Indonesia | IDR 100,000,000 or more | Arrival and departure | Applies to cash in any currency and to paper instruments such as cheques and traveler's cheques. | Official source Last verified: 13 Oct 2026 |
| ๐ฒ๐พ Malaysia | Over USD 10,000 equivalent | Arrival and departure | Declare on Customs Form No. 7. Carrying more than USD 10,000 worth of Malaysian ringgit also needs prior permission from the central bank. | Official source Last verified: 13 Oct 2026 |
| ๐ธ๐ฌ Singapore | Over SGD 20,000 (or equivalent) | Arrival and departure | Declare on Form NP 727 to the Singapore Police Force, both when you arrive and when you leave. | Official source Last verified: 13 Oct 2026 |
| ๐ป๐ณ Vietnam | Over USD 5,000, or over VND 15,000,000 | On arrival | One of the lower thresholds in this list. Declare at the border gate when you arrive. | Official source Last verified: 13 Oct 2026 |
| ๐ฐ๐ญ Cambodia | USD 10,000 or more (or equivalent in riel) | Arrival and departure | Set by Article 13 of Cambodia's Law on Foreign Exchange. Declare at the border crossing. | Official source Last verified: 13 Oct 2026 |
| ๐ฎ๐ณ India | Over USD 10,000 in foreign exchange, or over USD 5,000 in foreign banknotes | On arrival | Declare on a Currency Declaration Form. Non-residents may not bring Indian rupees in or take them out. | Official source Last verified: 13 Oct 2026 |
| ๐น๐ผ Taiwan | Over NT$100,000, or over USD 10,000 | On arrival | Based on British government advice. We found no Taiwanese page stating the amount. | UK government advice Last verified: 3 Oct 2026 |
| ๐จ๐ณ China | Over RMB 20,000, or over USD 5,000 in foreign cash | On arrival | Declare to customs on arrival if you carry more than either amount. | Official source Last verified: 28 Oct 2026 |
| ๐ต๐ญ Philippines | Over USD 10,000 in foreign currency; over PHP 50,000 needs central bank approval | Arrival and departure | Declare the full amount in the electronic customs declaration (e-CDF), which is part of eTravel. | Official source Last verified: 13 Oct 2026 |
| ๐ต๐ผ Palau | USD 10,000 or more | On arrival | Declared on the Palau Entry Form. Based on British government advice; we found no Palauan page with the amount. | Official source Last verified: 3 Oct 2026 |
| ๐ฆ๐ผ Aruba | No official source found | No official source found | No official source we checked states a cash declaration amount. | No official source found |
| ๐จ๐ผ Curaรงao | No official source found | No official source found | No official source we checked states a cash declaration amount. | No official source found |
| ๐ฏ๐ฒ Jamaica | USD 10,000 or more | On arrival | The C5 form asks about it. You also complete a separate Financial Investigation Division cross-border form. | UK government advice Last verified: 3 Oct 2026 |
| ๐ฉ๐ด Dominican Republic | Over USD 10,000 (or equivalent) | Arrival and departure | Declaring is free. Carry documents that show where the money comes from. | Official source Last verified: 13 Oct 2026 |
| ๐น๐น Trinidad and Tobago | Over TT$20,000 | Arrival and departure | No upper limit on what you carry, but anything above TT$20,000 must be declared. Penalties for not declaring are strict. | UK government advice Last verified: 4 Oct 2026 |
| ๐จ๐บ Cuba | Over USD 5,000 in foreign currency | On arrival | Cuban pesos cannot be exchanged outside Cuba. Change money only at Cadeca exchange offices. | UK government advice Last verified: 3 Oct 2026 |
| ๐จ๐ด Colombia | Over USD 10,000 | On arrival | Declare to DIAN, Colombia's tax and customs office. Based on British government advice. | UK government advice Last verified: 13 Oct 2026 |
| ๐จ๐ฆ Canada | CAD 10,000 or more | Arrival and departure | Counts cash and monetary instruments together, every time you cross the border. | Official source Last verified: 13 Oct 2026 |
| ๐ฏ๐ด Jordan | Over JOD 10,000 (or equivalent) | Arrival and departure | Applies to cash and bearer instruments, on arrival and departure. | Official source Last verified: 13 Oct 2026 |
| Other countries | ||||
| ๐ฆ๐ซ Afghanistan | Carrying over USD 5,000 by air or USD 500 by land is illegal | Arrival and departure | UK government advice Last verified: 3 Oct 2026 | |
| ๐ฆ๐ฑ Albania | EUR 10,000 or more | Arrival and departure | Official source Last verified: 3 Oct 2026 | |
| ๐ฉ๐ฟ Algeria | Over EUR 5,000 | Arrival and departure | UK government advice Last verified: 3 Oct 2026 | |
| ๐ฆ๐ฉ Andorra | EUR 10,000 or more when crossing into or out of the EU | Arrival and departure | Official source Last verified: 3 Oct 2026 | |
| ๐ฆ๐ด Angola | USD 5,000 or more (USD 10,000 for residents) | Arrival and departure | UK government advice Last verified: 6 Oct 2026 | |
| ๐ฆ๐ฌ Antigua and Barbuda | Over USD 10,000 | On arrival | Canada travel advice Last verified: 4 Oct 2026 | |
| ๐ฆ๐ท Argentina | USD 10,000 or more (USD 5,000 under 16) | Arrival and departure | Official source Last verified: 13 Oct 2026 | |
| ๐ฆ๐ฒ Armenia | Over USD 10,000 | Arrival and departure | Canada travel advice Last verified: 4 Oct 2026 | |
| ๐ฆ๐บ Australia | AUD 10,000 or more | Arrival and departure | Official source Last verified: 13 Oct 2026 | |
| ๐ฆ๐น Austria | EUR 10,000 or more (EU rule) | Arrival and departure | Official source Last verified: 13 Oct 2026 | |
| ๐ฆ๐ฟ Azerbaijan | Leaving with over USD 10,000 needs written proof | On departure | Official source Last verified: 3 Oct 2026 | |
| ๐ง๐ธ Bahamas | BSD 10,000 | Arrival and departure | Official source Last verified: 3 Oct 2026 | |
| ๐ง๐ญ Bahrain | BHD 6,000 | Arrival and departure | US State Department Last verified: 15 Oct 2026 | |
| ๐ง๐ฉ Bangladesh | Over USD 10,000; BDT over 5,000 | On arrival | Official source Last verified: 3 Oct 2026 | |
| ๐ง๐ง Barbados | Not stated | Not stated | No official source we checked states a cash declaration amount. | Official source Last verified: 26 Aug 2026 |
| ๐ง๐พ Belarus | Over USD 10,000 | Arrival and departure | Official source Last verified: 3 Oct 2026 | |
| ๐ง๐ช Belgium | EUR 10,000 or more (EU rule) | Arrival and departure | Official source Last verified: 3 Oct 2026 | |
| ๐ง๐ฟ Belize | About USD 10,000 | Arrival and departure | US State Department Last verified: 15 Oct 2026 | |
| ๐ง๐ฏ Benin | Over XOF 5,000,000 | Arrival and departure | US State Department Last verified: 15 Oct 2026 | |
| ๐ง๐น Bhutan | USD 10,000 or more | Arrival and departure | Official source Last verified: 2 Oct 2026 | |
| ๐ง๐ด Bolivia | USD 10,000 or more | Arrival and departure | Official source Last verified: 2 Oct 2026 | |
| ๐ง๐ฆ Bosnia and Herzegovina | Over EUR 10,000 | Arrival and departure | Official source Last verified: 7 Oct 2026 | |
| ๐ง๐ผ Botswana | BWP 10,000 or more | On arrival | UK government advice Last verified: 3 Oct 2026 | |
| ๐ง๐ท Brazil | Over USD 10,000 | On arrival | Official source Last verified: 13 Oct 2026 | |
| ๐ง๐ณ Brunei | BND 15,000 | Arrival and departure | US State Department Last verified: 15 Oct 2026 | |
| ๐ง๐ฌ Bulgaria | EUR 10,000 or more (EU rule) | Arrival and departure | Official source Last verified: 3 Oct 2026 | |
| ๐ง๐ซ Burkina Faso | XOF 5,000,000 or more | Arrival and departure | Official source Last verified: 7 Oct 2026 | |
| ๐ง๐ฎ Burundi | Not stated | Not stated | No official source we checked states a cash declaration amount. | Official source Last verified: 9 Oct 2026 |
| ๐จ๐ป Cabo Verde | Not stated | Not stated | No official source we checked states a cash declaration amount. | UK government advice Last verified: 7 Oct 2026 |
| ๐จ๐ฒ Cameroon | No official source found | No official source found | No official source we checked states a cash declaration amount. | No official source found |
| ๐จ๐ซ Central African Republic | No official source found | No official source found | No official source we checked states a cash declaration amount. | No official source found |
| ๐น๐ฉ Chad | No official source found | No official source found | No official source we checked states a cash declaration amount. | No official source found |
| ๐จ๐ฑ Chile | USD 10,000 or more | Arrival and departure | Official source Last verified: 3 Oct 2026 | |
| ๐ฐ๐ฒ Comoros | No official source found | No official source found | No official source we checked states a cash declaration amount. | No official source found |
| ๐จ๐ท Costa Rica | USD 10,000 or more | On arrival | UK government advice Last verified: 13 Oct 2026 | |
| ๐ญ๐ท Croatia | EUR 10,000 or more (EU rule) | Arrival and departure | Official source Last verified: 13 Oct 2026 | |
| ๐จ๐พ Cyprus | EUR 10,000 or more (EU rule) | Arrival and departure | Official source Last verified: 3 Oct 2026 | |
| ๐จ๐ฟ Czechia | EUR 10,000 or more (EU rule) | Arrival and departure | Official source Last verified: 13 Oct 2026 | |
| ๐จ๐ฎ Cรดte d'Ivoire | Any foreign currency; XOF cash up to 500,000 | On arrival | UK government advice Last verified: 3 Oct 2026 | |
| ๐จ๐ฉ Democratic Republic of the Congo | Over USD 10,000 on arrival; any foreign currency on departure | Arrival and departure | Canada travel advice Last verified: 4 Oct 2026 | |
| ๐ฉ๐ฐ Denmark | EUR 10,000 or more (EU rule) | Arrival and departure | Official source Last verified: 3 Oct 2026 | |
| ๐ฉ๐ฏ Djibouti | No official source found | No official source found | No official source we checked states a cash declaration amount. | No official source found |
| ๐ฉ๐ฒ Dominica | Over USD 10,000 | On arrival | Official source Last verified: 7 Oct 2026 | |
| ๐ช๐จ Ecuador | USD 10,000 or more | Arrival and departure | Official source Last verified: 3 Oct 2026 | |
| ๐ช๐ฌ Egypt | Over USD 10,000; EGP up to 5,000 | On arrival | UK government advice Last verified: 13 Oct 2026 | |
| ๐ธ๐ป El Salvador | USD 10,000 or more | On arrival | UK government advice Last verified: 3 Oct 2026 | |
| ๐ฌ๐ถ Equatorial Guinea | No official source found | No official source found | No official source we checked states a cash declaration amount. | No official source found |
| ๐ช๐ท Eritrea | USD 10,000 or more | On arrival | UK government advice Last verified: 3 Oct 2026 | |
| ๐ช๐ช Estonia | EUR 10,000 or more (EU rule) | Arrival and departure | Official source Last verified: 3 Oct 2026 | |
| ๐ธ๐ฟ Eswatini | No official source found | No official source found | No official source we checked states a cash declaration amount. | No official source found |
| ๐ช๐น Ethiopia | Over USD 10,000 (USD 500 by land) | Arrival and departure | UK government advice Last verified: 3 Oct 2026 | |
| ๐ซ๐ฏ Fiji | Over FJD 5,000 on arrival, over FJD 10,000 on departure | Arrival and departure | Canada travel advice Last verified: 6 Oct 2026 | |
| ๐ซ๐ฎ Finland | EUR 10,000 or more (EU rule) | Arrival and departure | Official source Last verified: 3 Oct 2026 | |
| ๐ซ๐ท France | EUR 10,000 or more (EU rule) | Arrival and departure | Official source Last verified: 13 Oct 2026 | |
| ๐ฌ๐ฆ Gabon | No official source found | No official source found | No official source we checked states a cash declaration amount. | No official source found |
| ๐ฌ๐ฒ Gambia | Declaration form on arrival, amount not stated | On arrival | Canada travel advice Last verified: 4 Oct 2026 | |
| ๐ฌ๐ช Georgia | Over GEL 30,000 | Arrival and departure | Canada travel advice Last verified: 13 Oct 2026 | |
| ๐ฉ๐ช Germany | EUR 10,000 or more (EU rule) | Arrival and departure | Official source Last verified: 13 Oct 2026 | |
| ๐ฌ๐ญ Ghana | All foreign currency; max USD 10,000 | On arrival | UK government advice Last verified: 2 Oct 2026 | |
| ๐ฌ๐ท Greece | EUR 10,000 or more (EU rule) | Arrival and departure | Official source Last verified: 13 Oct 2026 | |
| ๐ฌ๐ฉ Grenada | Not stated | Not stated | No official source we checked states a cash declaration amount. | UK government advice Last verified: 6 Oct 2026 |
| ๐ฌ๐น Guatemala | Over USD 10,000 | Arrival and departure | Official source Last verified: 9 Oct 2026 | |
| ๐ฌ๐ณ Guinea | Leaving: max USD 5,000 or GNF 100,000 | On departure | UK government advice Last verified: 2 Oct 2026 | |
| ๐ฌ๐ผ Guinea-Bissau | All foreign currency; local currency banned | On arrival | Canada travel advice Last verified: 3 Oct 2026 | |
| ๐ฌ๐พ Guyana | Over USD 10,000 | Arrival and departure | Official source Last verified: 2 Oct 2026 | |
| ๐ญ๐น Haiti | Not stated | Not stated | No official source we checked states a cash declaration amount. | Official source Last verified: 2 Oct 2026 |
| ๐ญ๐ณ Honduras | USD 10,000 or more | Arrival and departure | Official source Last verified: 6 Oct 2026 | |
| ๐ญ๐ฐ Hong Kong | Over HKD 120,000 | On arrival | Official source Last verified: 3 Oct 2026 | |
| ๐ญ๐บ Hungary | EUR 10,000 or more (EU rule) | Arrival and departure | Official source Last verified: 13 Oct 2026 | |
| ๐ฎ๐ธ Iceland | Over EUR 10,000 | Arrival and departure | Official source Last verified: 3 Oct 2026 | |
| ๐ฎ๐ท Iran | About USD 10,000 in, USD 5,000 out | Arrival and departure | US State Department Last verified: 15 Oct 2026 | |
| ๐ฎ๐ถ Iraq | Over USD 10,000; IQD over 200,000 | On arrival | UK government advice Last verified: 3 Oct 2026 | |
| ๐ฎ๐ช Ireland | EUR 10,000 or more (EU rule) | Arrival and departure | Official source Last verified: 13 Oct 2026 | |
| ๐ฎ๐ฑ Israel | ILS 50,000 or more (ILS 12,000 at some land crossings) | Arrival and departure | Official source Last verified: 4 Oct 2026 | |
| ๐ฎ๐น Italy | EUR 10,000 or more (EU rule) | Arrival and departure | Official source Last verified: 13 Oct 2026 | |
| ๐ฏ๐ต Japan | Over JPY 1,000,000 | Arrival and departure | Official source Last verified: 13 Oct 2026 | |
| ๐ฐ๐ฟ Kazakhstan | Over USD 10,000 | Arrival and departure | UK government advice Last verified: 3 Oct 2026 | |
| ๐ฐ๐ช Kenya | USD 10,000 or more | Arrival and departure | Official source Last verified: 13 Oct 2026 | |
| ๐ฐ๐ฎ Kiribati | No official source found | No official source found | No official source we checked states a cash declaration amount. | No official source found |
| ๐ฝ๐ฐ Kosovo | EUR 10,000 or more | Arrival and departure | Official source Last verified: 3 Oct 2026 | |
| ๐ฐ๐ผ Kuwait | KWD 3,000 or more | On arrival | UK government advice Last verified: 3 Oct 2026 | |
| ๐ฐ๐ฌ Kyrgyzstan | Over USD 10,000 | Arrival and departure | Official source Last verified: 9 Oct 2026 | |
| ๐ฑ๐ฆ Laos | LAK 150,000,000 or more | Arrival and departure | US State Department Last verified: 15 Oct 2026 | |
| ๐ฑ๐ป Latvia | EUR 10,000 or more (EU rule) | Arrival and departure | Official source Last verified: 3 Oct 2026 | |
| ๐ฑ๐ง Lebanon | Over USD 15,000 | Arrival and departure | Official source Last verified: 3 Oct 2026 | |
| ๐ฑ๐ธ Lesotho | LSL 25,000 or more | On arrival | UK government advice Last verified: 2 Oct 2026 | |
| ๐ฑ๐ท Liberia | USD 10,000 or more; max USD 7,500 out | Arrival and departure | UK government advice Last verified: 3 Oct 2026 | |
| ๐ฑ๐พ Libya | Over USD 10,000 | Arrival and departure | UK government advice Last verified: 3 Oct 2026 | |
| ๐ฑ๐ฎ Liechtenstein | No declaration; questions above CHF 10,000 | Not stated | Official source Last verified: 3 Oct 2026 | |
| ๐ฑ๐น Lithuania | EUR 10,000 or more (EU rule) | Arrival and departure | Official source Last verified: 3 Oct 2026 | |
| ๐ฑ๐บ Luxembourg | EUR 10,000 or more (EU rule) | Arrival and departure | Official source Last verified: 3 Oct 2026 | |
| ๐ฒ๐ด Macau | MOP 120,000 or more | On arrival | Official source Last verified: 2 Oct 2026 | |
| ๐ฒ๐ฌ Madagascar | EUR 7,500 or more | On arrival | UK government advice Last verified: 3 Oct 2026 | |
| ๐ฒ๐ผ Malawi | All foreign currency; max USD 5,000 out | Arrival and departure | US State Department Last verified: 15 Oct 2026 | |
| ๐ฒ๐ป Maldives | No official source found | No official source found | No official source we checked states a cash declaration amount. | No official source found |
| ๐ฒ๐ฑ Mali | Not stated | Not stated | No official source we checked states a cash declaration amount. | Official source Last verified: 26 Aug 2026 |
| ๐ฒ๐น Malta | EUR 10,000 or more (EU rule) | Arrival and departure | Official source Last verified: 3 Oct 2026 | |
| ๐ฒ๐ญ Marshall Islands | No official source found | No official source found | No official source we checked states a cash declaration amount. | No official source found |
| ๐ฒ๐ท Mauritania | Taking ouguiya out is illegal; no threshold published | On departure | Official source Last verified: 6 Oct 2026 | |
| ๐ฒ๐บ Mauritius | Over MUR 500,000 | Arrival and departure | Official source Last verified: 4 Oct 2026 | |
| ๐ฒ๐ฝ Mexico | Over USD 10,000 | Arrival and departure | Official source Last verified: 13 Oct 2026 | |
| ๐ซ๐ฒ Micronesia | Not stated | Not stated | No official source we checked states a cash declaration amount. | US State Department Last verified: 4 Oct 2026 |
| ๐ฒ๐ฉ Moldova | Over EUR 10,000 | Arrival and departure | Official source Last verified: 3 Oct 2026 | |
| ๐ฒ๐จ Monaco | Over EUR 10,000 | Arrival and departure | Official source Last verified: 3 Oct 2026 | |
| ๐ฒ๐ณ Mongolia | USD 10,000 or more | On arrival | US State Department Last verified: 15 Oct 2026 | |
| ๐ฒ๐ช Montenegro | EUR 10,000 or more | On arrival | UK government advice Last verified: 3 Oct 2026 | |
| ๐ฒ๐ฆ Morocco | MAD 100,000 or more (to re-export); MAD max 2,000 | Arrival and departure | Official source Last verified: 13 Oct 2026 | |
| ๐ฒ๐ฟ Mozambique | USD 5,000 or more; MZN 10,000 or more | On arrival | UK government advice Last verified: 3 Oct 2026 | |
| ๐ฒ๐ฒ Myanmar | Over USD 10,000 | On arrival | UK government advice Last verified: 3 Oct 2026 | |
| ๐ณ๐ฆ Namibia | NAD 100,000 or more | Arrival and departure | Official source Last verified: 7 Oct 2026 | |
| ๐ณ๐ท Nauru | Permit to take out over AUD 2,500 | On departure | US State Department Last verified: 22 Oct 2026 | |
| ๐ณ๐ต Nepal | Over USD 5,000 in notes, or USD 10,000 total | On arrival | Official source Last verified: 13 Oct 2026 | |
| ๐ณ๐ฑ Netherlands | EUR 10,000 or more (EU rule) | Arrival and departure | Official source Last verified: 13 Oct 2026 | |
| ๐ณ๐ฟ New Zealand | NZD 10,000 or more | Arrival and departure | Official source Last verified: 13 Oct 2026 | |
| ๐ณ๐ฎ Nicaragua | USD 10,000 or more | Arrival and departure | Official source Last verified: 6 Oct 2026 | |
| ๐ณ๐ช Niger | No official source found | No official source found | No official source we checked states a cash declaration amount. | No official source found |
| ๐ณ๐ฌ Nigeria | Over USD 10,000 | Arrival and departure | Official source Last verified: 3 Oct 2026 | |
| ๐ฐ๐ต North Korea | All foreign currency; won banned | Arrival and departure | UK government advice Last verified: 3 Oct 2026 | |
| ๐ฒ๐ฐ North Macedonia | EUR 10,000 or more | Arrival and departure | Official source Last verified: 2 Oct 2026 | |
| ๐ณ๐ด Norway | Over NOK 25,000 | Arrival and departure | Official source Last verified: 3 Oct 2026 | |
| ๐ด๐ฒ Oman | OMR 6,000 or more | Arrival and departure | Official source Last verified: 2 Oct 2026 | |
| ๐ต๐ฐ Pakistan | PKR max 10,000; foreign currency out max USD 10,000 | Arrival and departure | Official source Last verified: 3 Oct 2026 | |
| ๐ต๐ธ Palestine | All funds must be declared, amount not stated | Arrival and departure | Official source Last verified: 3 Oct 2026 | |
| ๐ต๐ฆ Panama | USD 10,000 or more | On arrival | Official source Last verified: 7 Oct 2026 | |
| ๐ต๐ฌ Papua New Guinea | Declared on the arrival card, amount not stated | On arrival | Official source Last verified: 4 Oct 2026 | |
| ๐ต๐พ Paraguay | USD 10,000 or more | Arrival and departure | Official source Last verified: 2 Oct 2026 | |
| ๐ต๐ช Peru | Over USD 10,000 (max USD 30,000) | Arrival and departure | Official source Last verified: 13 Oct 2026 | |
| ๐ต๐ฑ Poland | EUR 10,000 or more (EU rule) | Arrival and departure | Official source Last verified: 13 Oct 2026 | |
| ๐ต๐น Portugal | EUR 10,000 or more (EU rule) | Arrival and departure | Official source Last verified: 13 Oct 2026 | |
| ๐ถ๐ฆ Qatar | Over QAR 50,000 | On arrival | UK government advice Last verified: 13 Oct 2026 | |
| ๐จ๐ฌ Republic of the Congo | No official source found | No official source found | No official source we checked states a cash declaration amount. | No official source found |
| ๐ท๐ด Romania | EUR 10,000 or more (EU rule) | Arrival and departure | Official source Last verified: 3 Oct 2026 | |
| ๐ท๐บ Russia | Over USD 10,000 | Arrival and departure | UK government advice Last verified: 3 Oct 2026 | |
| ๐ท๐ผ Rwanda | Not stated | Not stated | No official source we checked states a cash declaration amount. | US State Department Last verified: 15 Oct 2026 |
| ๐ฐ๐ณ Saint Kitts and Nevis | Not stated | Not stated | No official source we checked states a cash declaration amount. | Official source Last verified: 7 Oct 2026 |
| ๐ฑ๐จ Saint Lucia | Over USD 10,000 | On arrival | Official source Last verified: 3 Oct 2026 | |
| ๐ป๐จ Saint Vincent and the Grenadines | Not stated | Not stated | No official source we checked states a cash declaration amount. | US State Department Last verified: 15 Oct 2026 |
| ๐ผ๐ธ Samoa | WST 20,000 or more | On arrival | UK government advice Last verified: 3 Oct 2026 | |
| ๐ธ๐ฒ San Marino | EUR 10,000 or more when crossing into or out of the EU | Arrival and departure | Official source Last verified: 3 Oct 2026 | |
| ๐ธ๐ฆ Saudi Arabia | SAR 40,000 or more | Arrival and departure | Official source Last verified: 13 Oct 2026 | |
| ๐ธ๐ณ Senegal | XOF 5,000,000 or more | Arrival and departure | Official source Last verified: 3 Oct 2026 | |
| ๐ท๐ธ Serbia | Over EUR 10,000 | Arrival and departure | Official source Last verified: 3 Oct 2026 | |
| ๐ธ๐จ Seychelles | SCR 50,000 or more, in the travel authorisation | On arrival | Official source Last verified: 3 Oct 2026 | |
| ๐ธ๐ฑ Sierra Leone | Not stated | Not stated | No official source we checked states a cash declaration amount. | Official source Last verified: 3 Oct 2026 |
| ๐ธ๐ฐ Slovakia | EUR 10,000 or more (EU rule) | Arrival and departure | Official source Last verified: 3 Oct 2026 | |
| ๐ธ๐ฎ Slovenia | EUR 10,000 or more (EU rule) | Arrival and departure | Official source Last verified: 3 Oct 2026 | |
| ๐ธ๐ง Solomon Islands | SBD 50,000 | Arrival and departure | US State Department Last verified: 22 Oct 2026 | |
| ๐ธ๐ด Somalia | Somaliland: USD 10,000 or more | On arrival | UK government advice Last verified: 3 Oct 2026 | |
| ๐ฟ๐ฆ South Africa | Over ZAR 100,000 needs Reserve Bank permission | Arrival and departure | Official source Last verified: 13 Oct 2026 | |
| ๐ฐ๐ท South Korea | Over USD 10,000 | On arrival | Official source Last verified: 13 Oct 2026 | |
| ๐ธ๐ธ South Sudan | Not stated | Not stated | No official source we checked states a cash declaration amount. | UK government advice Last verified: 4 Oct 2026 |
| ๐ช๐ธ Spain | EUR 10,000 or more (EU rule) | Arrival and departure | Official source Last verified: 13 Oct 2026 | |
| ๐ฑ๐ฐ Sri Lanka | Over USD 15,000 | On arrival | Official source Last verified: 13 Oct 2026 | |
| ๐ธ๐ฉ Sudan | Sudanese pound cannot be taken out; no threshold published | On departure | Canada travel advice Last verified: 4 Oct 2026 | |
| ๐ธ๐ท Suriname | Not stated | Not stated | No official source we checked states a cash declaration amount. | UK government advice Last verified: 4 Oct 2026 |
| ๐ธ๐ช Sweden | EUR 10,000 or more (EU rule) | Arrival and departure | Official source Last verified: 3 Oct 2026 | |
| ๐จ๐ญ Switzerland | No declaration; questions above CHF 10,000 | Not stated | Official source Last verified: 13 Oct 2026 | |
| ๐ธ๐พ Syria | Not stated | Not stated | No official source we checked states a cash declaration amount. | UK government advice Last verified: 4 Oct 2026 |
| ๐ธ๐น Sรฃo Tomรฉ and Prรญncipe | No official source found | No official source found | No official source we checked states a cash declaration amount. | No official source found |
| ๐น๐ฏ Tajikistan | Over USD 10,000 | Arrival and departure | UK government advice Last verified: 3 Oct 2026 | |
| ๐น๐ฟ Tanzania | Over USD 10,000 | Arrival and departure | Canada travel advice Last verified: 3 Oct 2026 | |
| ๐น๐ฑ Timor-Leste | Over USD 5,000 | On arrival | Official source Last verified: 7 Oct 2026 | |
| ๐น๐ฌ Togo | No official source found | No official source found | No official source we checked states a cash declaration amount. | No official source found |
| ๐น๐ด Tonga | Over TOP 10,000 | On arrival | UK government advice Last verified: 3 Oct 2026 | |
| ๐น๐ณ Tunisia | TND 20,000 or more | Arrival and departure | Official source Last verified: 3 Oct 2026 | |
| ๐น๐ท Turkey | Leaving with over EUR 10,000 or TRY 25,000 | On departure | Official source Last verified: 13 Oct 2026 | |
| ๐น๐ฒ Turkmenistan | All foreign cash; max USD 10,000 out | Arrival and departure | Official source Last verified: 3 Oct 2026 | |
| ๐น๐ป Tuvalu | Not stated | Not stated | No official source we checked states a cash declaration amount. | UK government advice Last verified: 4 Oct 2026 |
| ๐บ๐ฌ Uganda | UGX 30,000,000 or more | Arrival and departure | Official source Last verified: 2 Oct 2026 | |
| ๐บ๐ฆ Ukraine | EUR 10,000 or more | Arrival and departure | Canada travel advice Last verified: 3 Oct 2026 | |
| ๐ฆ๐ช United Arab Emirates | Over AED 60,000 | On arrival | Official source Last verified: 13 Oct 2026 | |
| ๐ฌ๐ง United Kingdom | GBP 10,000 or more | Arrival and departure | Official source Last verified: 13 Oct 2026 | |
| ๐บ๐ธ United States | Over USD 10,000 | Arrival and departure | Official source Last verified: 13 Oct 2026 | |
| ๐บ๐พ Uruguay | USD 10,000 or more | Arrival and departure | Official source Last verified: 2 Oct 2026 | |
| ๐บ๐ฟ Uzbekistan | USD 10,000 | On arrival | UK government advice Last verified: 3 Oct 2026 | |
| ๐ป๐บ Vanuatu | Not stated | Not stated | No official source we checked states a cash declaration amount. | Official source Last verified: 2 Oct 2026 |
| ๐ป๐ฆ Vatican City | EUR 10,000 or more (EU rule) | Arrival and departure | Official source Last verified: 3 Oct 2026 | |
| ๐ป๐ช Venezuela | USD 10,000 or more | On arrival | UK government advice Last verified: 2 Oct 2026 | |
| ๐พ๐ช Yemen | Over USD 3,000; rial banned | On arrival | UK government advice Last verified: 3 Oct 2026 | |
| ๐ฟ๐ฒ Zambia | Over USD 5,000 | Arrival and departure | Official source Last verified: 13 Oct 2026 | |
| ๐ฟ๐ผ Zimbabwe | USD 10,000 or more; max USD 2,000 out | Arrival and departure | UK government advice Last verified: 3 Oct 2026 | |
The USD 10,000 line, and the countries below it
Ten of the countries on this list use a threshold at or close to USD 10,000. Malaysia sets it at over USD 10,000 equivalent, declared on Customs Form No. 7. Cambodia uses the same figure under its Law on Foreign Exchange. India's threshold is USD 10,000 for foreign exchange, with a separate USD 5,000 limit for foreign currency notes. Taiwan's limit, according to UK government advice, is NT$100,000 or US$10,000. The Philippines, Palau, Jamaica, the Dominican Republic, Colombia, and Canada also sit at or near USD 10,000, though Canada's rule is stated in Canadian dollars (CAD 10,000) rather than US dollars.
A smaller group sets the bar lower. Vietnam requires a declaration for foreign currency over USD 5,000, or Vietnamese cash over VND 15,000,000, on entry. Cuba's threshold is also USD 5,000 for foreign currency, according to UK advice. China's declaration threshold on entry is over RMB 20,000, or over USD 5,000 in foreign cash.
Restrictions on local currency
A handful of countries treat their own currency differently from foreign cash. India restricts non-residents from importing or exporting Indian rupees at all, according to Canada's travel advice. The Philippines allows up to PHP 50,000 freely, but anything above that needs prior written authorization from the central bank (BSP). Malaysia applies a separate rule to ringgit: amounts over USD 10,000 equivalent require prior permission from Bank Negara Malaysia, on top of the general foreign currency threshold.
Cuba takes a different approach entirely. Cuban pesos cannot be exchanged outside Cuba, and UK advice recommends exchanging money only at official Cadeca houses once you arrive. If your destination has a local currency restriction, check the rule specifically, since it often sits alongside, not instead of, the general cash declaration threshold.
Declaring on the arrival card itself
In some countries, the cash declaration is folded into the standard arrival paperwork rather than handled as a separate customs form. Jamaica's C5 Immigration/Customs form asks directly about amounts over USD 10,000, alongside a separate Financial Investigation Division Cross Border Form. Palau's entry form includes the same USD 10,000 question, though UK advice is the source for this figure, not a Palauan government source. The Philippines uses its e-CDF (e-Customs Declaration Form) to capture cash declarations over USD 10,000 as part of the standard entry process.
If you are traveling to any of these three countries, check the cash question on the arrival form itself rather than looking for a separate declaration process.
Entering vs leaving
Most countries that declare a cash threshold apply it to arrivals. Thailand is the exception: its published rule, from the Thai Ministry of Finance, applies to leaving the country with more than 450,000 THB, or foreign currency over USD 15,000. No official Thai source states a threshold for arriving.
Several other countries require a declaration in both directions. Indonesia, Malaysia, Cambodia, the Philippines, the Dominican Republic, Trinidad and Tobago, Canada, and Jordan all apply their threshold whether you are entering or leaving. If you are transiting through one of these countries with cash above the limit, check whether the departure declaration applies to you too.
What counts as "cash"
Definitions vary, but two countries in the dataset spell theirs out clearly. Indonesia's threshold covers cash, cheques, traveler's cheques, promissory notes, and bilyet giro, in any currency. Canada's rule covers any combination of currency and monetary instruments, applied every time you cross the border. Where a country's source does not define "cash" beyond physical currency, that is the only thing covered. These sources do not mention bank cards, prepaid cards, or cryptocurrency.
Frequently asked questions
Do I pay tax if I declare cash?
No. Declaring is a reporting requirement, not a tax. Dominican Customs states this explicitly: no tax is charged when you declare cash on entry or exit. Declaring simply gives customs a record of the amount you are carrying; it does not create a charge on its own.
Is the limit per person or per family?
Most of the official sources used here state the threshold per person or per traveler. They do not mention pooling the limit across a family or group. If you are traveling with others, check the specific source for your destination, since this detail is not spelled out everywhere.
Do bank cards and crypto count?
The sources listed here cover cash and, in some cases, bearer instruments like cheques and traveler's cheques. None of them mention bank cards, prepaid cards, or cryptocurrency, so these details are not addressed in the official guidance we reviewed.
What if I don't know the exchange rate?
The threshold applies to the equivalent value in your currency, not a fixed number in your own money. Check your destination's current threshold and a reliable exchange rate before you travel, so you can calculate whether your amount requires a declaration.
Where do I declare?
This depends on the country. Some use a dedicated customs form, such as Malaysia's Form No. 7 or Singapore's Form NP 727. Others fold it into the arrival card itself, such as Jamaica's C5 form or the Philippines' e-CDF. Check the specific process for your destination before you travel.
Sources: each row links to the official source and shows the date we last checked it.
Other entry-requirements topics
Last verified: 28 Oct 2026